Tuesday, July 19, 2016

The Olympian Gods

The 12 Olympian Gods and Goddesses

Ines Kitty


Twelve Olympians

In the ancient Greek religion and Greek mythology, the Twelve Olympians are the major deities of the Greek pantheon, commonly considered to be Zeus, Hera, Poseidon, Demeter, Athena, Apollo, Artemis, Ares, Aphrodite, Hephaestus, Hermes and either Hestia, or Dionysus.[1] Hades and Persephone were sometimes included as part of the twelve Olympians (primarily due to the influence of the Eleusinian Mysteries), although in general Hades was excluded, because he resided permanently in the underworld and never visited Olympus.


The Olympian gods not only had Roman "counterparts," but they also had equivalent gods from the Odinic tradition. Due to many similarities, some people believe that the Greek and Teutonic gods had a common origin somewhere... lost in time. One thing is certain, there was an earlier proto-European spirituality in ancient Greece which predates the Olympian gods. For example, the Goddess Hecate was part of this earlier tradition.


A shorter version...

The Olympians

Unfolded Mysteries

The above video deals with the names of greek gods and the goddess also known as the Olympians. 


No comments:

Post a Comment