Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Rare Moon Double Combo - The September 27-28 Blood Moon & Supermoon

The following article is from the UK, so check your local times.

For North America.... the crest of the moon’s full phase comes on September 27 at:

10:51 PM EST

9:51 PM CST

8:51 PM MST

7:51 PM PST

Also, this Super Harvest Moon will occur on a succession of following nights as well.


'Blood Moon and Supermoon: September to bring brightest – and dimmest – full Moon of the year on same night'

Some are convinced that the weird lunar events — a lunar eclipse on the same night as a Supermoon — will bring pull up the tides, bringing floods and earthquakes

Andrew Griffin - The Independent (UK) - August 28, 2015

The full Moon in September will be both the darkest and brightest of the year — and some have said that the Blood Moon could be a sign of the apocalypse.

It will be the fourth of what some are calling the Blood Moon, and Supermoon, of the year, which has been claimed to be a sign of the end of the world.

On the early morning of September 28, the Moon will be extra close to the Earth, leading to what is called a Supermoon. Because of its proximity, the full Moon will be lit up extra bright, especially at around 2am.

But, soon after, the Moon will start to disappear. It will get completely eclipsed by about 3am, as the Earth stands between it and the Sun. It won’t be visible again until about 4.30am.

During the eclipse, the Moon won’t be entirely invisible. Instead, it’s likely that the sun’s rays will bend around the Earth and the light will become red — casting the satellite in a coppery colour, which some call the Blood Moon.

Some are convinced that the Moon — and its relationship with the Sun — will bring about high tides and flooding. They also claim that the strange tidal activity will bring about earthquakes and the eruption of volcanoes.

The night will also see the fourth lunar eclipse moon in two years — which followers of the “Blood Moon Prophecy” are convinced will bring about the end of the world.

The Goddess Diana
The apocalyptic concerns are partly a result of the worries about the “equinoctial tide”. During the Equinox, the Sun and Moon both pull equally on the oceans, emphasising their effects. And the Moon will be closer — meaning that it’ll be extra strong.

It’s true that the tides might be higher than normal, according to the UK National Tidal and Sea Level Facility. But they’ll be only an inch or two higher than the highest tides of the last 20 years.


'Everything you need to know: The super Harvest Moon of 2015'

September 2015 lunar eclipse

Harvest Moon


'What is a blood moon? and other fun questions about the upcoming apocalypse' 

Blood Moon Prophesy


No comments:

Post a Comment